View Product Reviews

ABF7533 - Absolute Squirrel Proof Feeder

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2022-01-21 11:03:31

My Squirrels are Smarter than this Feeder!

Posted By: Charles E Whieldon

Location: Severn, MD United States

Comments:

Overall, this feeder is great. It has a very large capacity, so the need to refill it is diminished. My wife and I enjoy looking at the variety of birds visiting our backyard to grab a bite. Unfortunately, the squirrels, terrific acrobats, have learned how to defeat the "squirrel-proof" part of the feeder. A squirrel hangs on to the metal surrounding the window and avoids putting his weight on the bar. So ingenious! We enjoy the squirrels as much as we do the birds, so we just refill more often.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2021-04-01 13:04:57

AH HA

Posted By: Constance

Location: Centreville, MD United States

Comments:

The squirrels sit or climb and stare longingly at it while the birds enjoy every seed.....it really works. I also love the dark green color and the house like shape.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2020-08-16 11:20:36

So Far, So Good

Posted By: Lois Stropko

Location: Cleveland, OH United States

Comments:

I recently purchased the Absolute Squirrel Proof Feeder since my last bird feeder from a different company didn't seem to work. The squirrels not only ate all the bird food from the old bird feeder, they broke the window. The Absolute Squirrel Proof Feeder seems to have the squirrels perplexed, and so far they have not been able to eat the bird food. I'm tempted to get another one based on the results so far. It's also really good looking in my yard!

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2020-08-10 12:14:20

ABOUT THE BEST FEEDER

Posted By: JOHN HOBDELL

Location: TRINITY, AL United States

Comments:

I HAVE HAD THESE FEEDERS FOR YEARS AND JUST PURCHASED THIS ONE FOR GRANDMA. I LIKE THESE FEEDERS A LOT. THE FOLLOWING IS A FEW THOUGHTS ON THEM OVER THE YEARS... =THE SQUIRRELS WILL GET ON THEM AND WORK THE TREDDLE TO GET SEED. BUT THEY GENERALLY DO NOT STAY LONG. =THE WINDOWS ARE USELESS ON THEM. I ASSUME THEY ARE TO SEE THE SEED LEVEL, THEY GET DUSTED OVER IMMEDIATELY, ONE CAN NOT SEE THE SEED IN THEM. ALSO (AND MORE IMPORTANTLY) THE WINDOW EDGES GIVE THE SQUIRRELS A PLACE TO HANG FROM AND WORK THE TREADLE. (IN THE PAST I HAVE HAD UNITS WITH NO WINDOWS, I THINK THEY WERE BETTER IN THIS REGARD.) =RACCOONS GOT ON BOTH OF MY FEEDERS WHEN I WAS AWAY FOR A FEW DAYS. THEY TORE THEM DOWN AND BENT THEM UP PRETTY GOOD. BUT THEY WERE EASILY BENT BACK TOGETHER AND ARE WORKING FINE. RACCOONS HAVE NOT BOTHERED THEM SINCE.... =IF ONE POPS THE SLOT AND HOLES OUT FOR HANGING AND LATER POLE MOUNTS THE UNITS, BE SURE TO CLOSE THE SLOTS AND HOLE FOR THE HANGER. AS THE SQUIRRELS WILL PULL SEED OUT OF THEM. =THE DRILL HOLES FOR DRAINING THE FEED TROUGH ARE TOO SMALL, I INCREASED THE SIZE AND THE SEED (BLACK OIL SUNFLOWER) STAYS DRYER AFTER RAIN. DEBRIS BUILD UP SEEMS TO TAKE LONGER ALSO. (THE OLDER MODEL (?) WITHOUT WINDOWS HAD A REMOVABLE TROUGH DIVIDER, THIS WAS EASIER TO KEEP CLEAN. =BEARS EASILY BEND THE POLE AND POP THE TOP OPENED TO EAT SEED. (THEY DO LESS DAMABE TO THE FEEDER THAN THE RACCOONS). I REPLACED THE TUBING WITH 1/2 INCH IRON PIPE WHICH FITS THE INCLUDED PLASTIC TUBE (SET IN CEMENT) JUST FINE. =DEER BUST THE WOODEN PERCHES TRYING TO GET SEED. I REPLACED THE PERCHES WITH THREADED ROD AND NUTS AND COVERED WITH RUBBER TUBING. THE TUBING IS PROBABLY NOT NECESSARY. THE BEST ! LEROY

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2020-07-18 18:09:40

Bird Feeder

Posted By: Thomas

Location: Plymouth, MA United States

Comments:

Purchased this bird feeder because I used t own a similar type many years ago. I particularly like the adjustable feature that allows you to limit the types of birds that can feed at this feeder as well as it's "squirrel proof" feature. It really works. The feeder appears to be well made...not disappointed at materials or workmanship. I installed it on the top of an old light post and placed it among the trees in the back yard. Now waiting foR the arrival of all our feathered friends, particularly the Cardinals.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2020-06-22 15:41:24

The Best of All Feeders

Posted By: Mary Exley

Location: Black Creek, GA United States

Comments:

This feeder was very easy to set up. We used the pole for ours, and it looks so nice near the brick walk in our backyard. It's nice to be able to put out a lot of feed at one time. We set it on 2, as we wanted to feed the small song birds from this feeder.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2020-05-25 18:30:15

A very cleverly designed bird feeder. Made in USA too. Yay!

Posted By: Stephanie Hysmith

Location: Charleston, WV United States

Comments:

I've never seen anything quite like this. We were a little confused when putting the parts together, but, in retrospect, when we looked at the directions and read carefully, it came together in a snap. It didn't take long for sparrows and finches to start feeding; the cardinals should be next. I'm sorry about cutting off the buffet to bluejays and starlings, but there's enough spillage to feed the squirrels as well. What a great design and sturdy as well. So nice to have something not made of plastic. I appreciated the minimal packaging by both the manufacturer of the bird feeder and Kinsman in general.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2020-05-18 13:34:51

Five green fingers

Posted By: Evelyn Davidson

Location: Denver , CO United States

Comments:

Love to feed the birds, NOT the squirrels! This feeder is quite nice!

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2019-03-20 12:27:05

Squirrel Proof Feeder

Posted By: carlotta abbott

Location: Lexington , KY United States

Comments:

I live in inner city where squirrels and raccoons are prolific. I had given up on feeding birds, after the raccoons literally tore my metal "squirrel proof" feeder apart. I missed my birds, and went searching online for a feeder I thought would work. This feeder works great. Presisyant squirrels climb the pole and try, try and try to acces the feed, without success. I'm so happy to hear and see birds all around again.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2019-02-17 23:13:35

Lasts forever

Posted By: Kzang

Location: Geneva, IL United States

Comments:

Mine is easily 20 plus years old. As is my sister's and my Mom's. Perch has been replaced. But none of ours have the plexiglass windows.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2018-08-07 04:31:59

Absolute Squirrel Proof Feeder

Posted By: Marion Wooters

Location: Laurel, DE United States

Comments:

This feed is well made. I could not be happier with my purchase.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2018-04-18 09:29:38

Smart Critter

Posted By: Ray Christian

Location: Huntington Station, NY United States

Comments:

The squirrels have managed to break the plastic window on the feeder. They stick their head throw the broken window and either eat the seed, or reach in and pull the seed out. So far the squirrel ls winning. My plan is to have a friend weld a piece of metal over the windows so the squirrel can't get in, but I won't be supersized if he comes back with an oxyacetylene welder and a mask to cut through the metal. I'm also purchasing another one of these feeders.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2018-01-09 21:06:46

Quality bird feeder

Posted By: Christine

Location: Meriden, CT United States

Comments:

Money well spent, so tired of buying new "disposable " bird feeders every year. Love the large capacity, so nice not to have to refill every day and I'm not feeding the squirrels!

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2017-08-30 11:43:19

Bullit Proof

Posted By: Ray

Location: Huntington Station, NY United States

Comments:

Have this feeder for two years for feeding smaller birds that get crowded out from the other feeders from larger birds. Works perfectly. Would buy again.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2017-04-10 16:03:29

Bird lover

Posted By: Patricia Batchelor

Location: Milton, DE United States

Comments:

This feeder is the first one we've ever had that the squirrels cannot get into. I certainly recommend it to the other bird lover peeps who don't want to feed the squirrels bird seeds!

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2015-10-09 10:38:32

Feeder 1 - Squirrels 0

Posted By: Joel

Location: Wilmington, NC United States

Comments:

I shouldn't take so much pleasure in watching the squirrels unsuccessful attempts to get the food from this feeder.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2015-06-07 14:20:41

Disbelief: It IS Squirrel-proof!

Posted By: Tracy Montfort

Location: Atlanta, GA United States

Comments:

Thank you for developing and marketing this superior product. I've spent so much on "foolproof" items that wound up WORTHLESS to these wily little scoundrels. But this feeder is just the very best. We love it and will probably buy another. Thanks for the comic relief too - we have seen so many squirrels TRY to get to the food and wind up bounced off. We hope they will eventually stop trying.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2014-06-03 23:30:05

Squirrel Proof Feeder

Posted By: Michael Parziale

Location: Chatham, NJ United States

Comments:

Its name says it all. Easy to use and finally we have an absolutely squirrel proof bird feeder...the squirrels can't figure it out. Highly recommend it over other feeders that are less expensive but not truly squirrel proof.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2013-11-17 10:29:54

This is the Best Birdfeeder

Posted By: Nicholas Hillyer

Location: Northfield, NJ United States

Comments:

I bought one last year,and am now buying a second one. Last year we saved about 50lbs of sunflower seed by using this birdfeeder, so ,in essence, the feeder paid for itself .I would recommend anybody living in a squirrel infested area to purchase this feeder; squirrels can NOT get into it.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2013-01-11 08:49:31

Smarter Squirrels

Posted By: Maude Datzenko

Location: Willingboro, NJ United States

Comments:

I bought one of these several years ago, and MY squirrels found away to remove the cotter pin that operates the shut down mechanism; I replaced it and they removed it again! Great feeder if you have dumb squirrels!

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2011-03-29 17:08:02

ABSOLUTE SQUIRREL PROOF FEEDER

Posted By: Ellen keith

Location: Beaufort, SC United States

Comments:

We would have won America's funniest animal video showing a squirrel trying to get the seeds! Only thing would change is a longer pole. Will buy more as time goes by.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2010-11-27 18:20:30

customer

Posted By: Barbara

Location: Blue Ridge, VA United States

Comments:

Love the feeder! So far no squirrels! Would have preferred it to be available in dark brown as when the sun shines on the green paint, it is blinding.

Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon   Date Posted: 2010-07-27 13:45:33

Absolute Bird Feeder

Posted By: Clare S

Location: Nashua, NH United States

Comments:

Bought this on the website's recommendation to allow cardinals and a few larger birds to feed since I bought the orignal Nuttery feeder for the small birds (which also like this feeder as well). I used it with the pole mount and it seems sturdy. Easy to fill and adjust the counterbalance. It seems very well made and I plan to use it throughout the winter here.